I wasn’t required to go to the court case in the end. Unbelievably, it was ruled that as a first cousin, there was too much opportunity for collusion. I still  don’t understand how it was fair and feel that the ruling only serves to make it easier for such a “virus” to spread throughout a family. The Uncle concerned pleaded not guilty to all the charges, but thankfully, there was more than enough evidence to send him jail for 8 years.

He’s out of prison now, and I can’t help but worry about his Grandchildren who no doubt spend time sitting on his lap and sleeping in his home. I’m powerless to do anything to help protect them and their mothers and grandmother have stood by his side throughout this ordeal. All I can do is hope that they are more vigilant than they may have been otherwise.

